Welcome to Govt. G.L.D.M Degree College Hiranagar (NAAC Accredited with Grade B+)

College Profile

Girdari Lal Dogra Memorial Degree College, Hiranagar is a progressive students centered, Co-educational College committed to providing quality and holistic education for all the students. Govt. Degree college Hiranagar was sanctioned vide Govt. Order no. 28-HE of 2005 dated 09/03/2005 and consequently the first session 2005-06 commenced from 18th July 2005 with a strength of 17 students and the roll has increased manifold since then. In these ten years of its existence this institution has grown from infancy to an institution of repute. The Govt. Degree College Hiranagar was renamed as Girdari Lai Dogra Memorial Degree College, Hiranagar vide Govt, order No.261-HE of 2006 dated: 12-10-2006. In the Month of March 2012, College was recognized by the UGC under section 2(f) and 12-B.The College started its functioning the newly constructed present day building from session 2008-09. The college campus is spread over an area of 71 kanals, situated 1.5 Km away from the National Highway in Tehsil Hiranagar, District Kathua. The College is affiliated to the University of Jammu. The College at present imparts instructions in streams like Arts, Medical, & Non-Medical for three years degree course. The college has highly qualified and competent faculty and equally competent support staff. In addition to this the college has a distance education study centre functioning under the aegis of Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi.
Goals and Objectives
1. To impart high quality education to the students of society.
2. To vanish the darkness that has eclipsed the sovereign virtues of the women of the state in the past.
3. To help the students by providing them self help courses so that they can be self reliant.
4. To provide value based learning that has a greater relevance in the dynamic and ever changing work environment.
5. To inculcate in the students strong intellectual, moral, physical, attitudes and ideas.
6. To produce graduates capable of responding to the challenges of life in every possible way.

Principals over the Years

S.No Name of the Principal Period
1 Dr. Ram Krishan 27-10-2005 to 09-02-2006
2 Prof. Ali Mohd. Sofi 10-02-2006 to 30-04-2006
3 Prof. Madan Lal 01-05-2006 to 31-03-2008
4 Dr. Savitri Sharma 08-05-2008 to 23-09-2008
5 Prof. V.K.Munshi 24-09-2008 to 30-04-2009
6 Prof(Dr.) Nater Singh 16-07-2009 to 03-05-2010
7 Prof(Dr.) Ashok Kumar 04-05-2010 to 02-07-2010
8 Prof(Dr.) Nater Singh 02-07-2010 to 28-10-2011
9 Dr. Ram Krishan 29-10-2011 to 28-02-2013
10 Prof(Dr.) Nater Singh 26-03-2013 to 26-04-2013
11 Prof. Kartar Chand 27-04-2013 to 02-07-2014
12 Prof. Sohan Lal Bhagat 03-07-2014 to 06-08-2015
13 Dr. Naresh Kumar Gupta 07-08-2015 to 26-10-2017
14 Prof. Subash Chander 27-10-2017 to 13-02-2019
15 Prof.(Dr.) Tilak Raj Sharma 13-02-2019 to 30-09-2019
16 Prof. Kuldeep Singh Koushal 24-01-2020 to 31-10-2021
17 Dr. Pragya Khanna 14-05-2022 to till date

Related Links